How to Save Automatically in DaVinci Resolve

By May 09,2017 19:12 pm

As soon as you have opened your project and start working on it, make sure to save all the changes on regular basis.

Techniques to save projects in DaVinci Resolve:

  • First of all you need to choose files option and then go to save project.
  • Now hit SAVE button on DVR control panel.
  • If you want to save the present position of your project as a copy using new theme, now simply go to Choose File option and then hit Save Project As option from menu. Enter name of your project and finally click save.

When you want to revert the last saved state of project:

In case if you don’t need to save your project rather want to get back the last saved state of your work then simply go to File and from drop down menu select “Restore to Last Save”.

When users are working on their project then the word Edited will keep of appearing on right side of their DVR screen so that they stay informed about unsaved work status. In case if you do not save your edited work for 15 minutes then this Edited word will grow to Yellow colour and in case if you keep on ignoring it up to 30 minutes then it will turn out to Red colour. There is a pointed present on ‘Edited’ word that helps users to know about time of last saved stage.

Users can also enable the auto save settings for their projects that can help them to stay safe from data losses.

The article below will help you to use Auto save feature and techniques to get back the crashed projects using Auto Save facility on DVR timeline.

How to Enable Auto Save Feature in DaVinci Resolve?

The Auto Save feature is really essential in a editing platform like DVR as it can keep our data safe during sudden crashes.

Enable Auto Save on your device:

Step 1: Open your project and then hit gear icon present on bottom left corner of DVR window.

Step 2: Project settings window will soon appear and users need to click on the Auto Save feature available on left hand sidebar.

Step 3: Here you will find three options:

  • OFF: Disable Auto Save. It stays active by default.
  • ON: Keep on saving project automatically after few minutes. You can select the duration of auto save feature from pop up window as 5, 10, 20, 30 minutes or even 1 hour. PostgerSQL can be saved after every one minute.
  • To Backup Project: It automatically creates a backup list for saving your current project. Here every project possess unique backup file for easy recovery. You can access the total number of saved backup files from “Retain the last X backups” option. These backups are discarded in first in- first out basis.
To backup your Project:

Retain the last X Backups: It helps to set the numbers of versions of saved projects. It creates 8 backups by default and they are removed on first in-first out basis.

Every: Using pop-up menu, you can easily define the frequency of auto-save behaviour for your project.

List Backups: It helps to show the window that contains all project backups. You can sort this list by height, width, date modified or by name. The buttons available on bottom portion can be used to access the load, delete and refresh options. Loading autosave backup means you will lose your current project or in other words, it will get replaced by the backup project. In case if you wish to preserve your current state of project then it is good to export your project before loading the backup.

Step 4: Now simply hit the save button to confirm all the changes and close your window.

How to Retrieve Crashed Projects with Auto Save?

In case if DaVinci Resolve crashes suddenly and you have not saved your project, generally, after you re-launching your project, and move to the color page, you will be not able to locate grade of your project. Don’t worry; if you have enabled Auto Save feature on your tool then it is possible to get back all the details. Simply follow these steps:

Step 1: Click the Gear icon available on the lower right corner of your screen and then re-launch your Autosave Panel.

Step 2: Choose list backups option and it will show you the backups that have been generated recently.

Step 3: Choose your backup and then hit on the load button. It will ask you to define name for your project.

This step is really useful because in case if you load a backup that doesn’t create desired data then you will be able to exit from it easily.

Step 4: As you have developed the project file now but the backup is not opened yet. Users need to move to project manager and then open this recently created backup file project.

Step 5: The grade defined by user gets autosaved on DVR platform and users can easily continue to work with their desired version of project.

Note that: DVR can support ten backups of a project at max so in case if it starts working on 11th then it will directly over-right the oldest one. The backup list available in menu will help you to know complete details about your project including last modification date so that you can pick the changes as per need. Their location on the list is not decided on the basis of their date modified, they can randomly appear anywhere.

Related Articles

comments

Product-related questions? Speak directly to our Support Team >>

DaVinci Resolve 12.5 User Guide
1. DaVinci Resolve Alternatives+
2. Basic Video Editing +
3. Advanced Video Editing +
4. Audio Editing +
5.Color Correction+
6. Tips and Tricks+
7. Resources and Troubleshooting+