Filmora Scrn
Record your Twitch stream video online without effort
  • Record your Twitch Video with 120 fps
  • GPU Acceleration for quick response
  • Add Markers to Ace Moments During Recording
  • Dual devices recording to better your experience

How to Delete Twitch Account in 2019

Jan 18,2019• Proven solutions

There is no doubt to say that social media has become an undetachable part of our lifestyle. However, few stages of life force us to get a break from the online activities. If you have a Twitch account, you may be deeply connected to best games and awesome gamers around the world. But at someday if you wish to delete your account, Twitch will never allow you to do this. However, this platform still allows users to simply disable their accounts that is probably enough to do to take a break. In this article, you will find detailed information about how to deactivate, reactivate or delete your twitch account in 2019:

Part 1: How to Disable Twitch Account:

When you disable your Twitch account, you remove it from online public Twitch service. You will not be discoverable on the network; however, it completely depends upon you whether you want to delete your all personal details before disabling the account or want to keep it as it is for future needs.

Steps to disable your Twitch account:

Step 1: First of all, you have to log in to the Twitch website with your Twitch account.

Step 2: Go to the top right corner and click on the available drop-down menu. Now choose Settings.

Step 3: On the Settings page, go to the bottom by scrolling it down. Here you will find a section named “Disable your Twitch Account.” Hit on the Disable Account option available there.

Step 4: The recently opened “Disable Account” page will need your account password, and you have to provide your feedback about why you want to leave the Twitch platform; however, the second part is optional.

Step 5: Once you are done with all four steps, it is time to hit the Disable Account button available in purple color on the screen. Right after that, your account will be disabled from Twitch platform.

Before you take the decision to disable your Twitch Account, it is better to inform your followers that you will not be available anymore. You can also direct them towards your other accounts like Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, etc. In case if you are planning to switch to other streaming sites like YouTube or Mixer etc. let your viewers/followers get details about how to subscribe you there.

Part 2: How to Delete Twitch Account:

It is already clear that Twitch doesn’t provide a way to delete your account permanently; you can only disable it. But now you might be worried about your account information. Well! After disabling your account, you can follow these steps to keep everything safe and secure:

1. Erase your Profile Information:

In order to remove your personal information from Twitch account while disabling it, you need to go to the Settings menu again. Note that it is available on the top-right corner of the screen in the form of a drop-down menu. The idea is to remove any essential information such as your actual name and bio details. Prefer to view your channel from the same menu and then remove the custom widgets as per need. Never forget to remove to links to various donation services that you have earlier added.

2. Delete Twitch from Other Associated Accounts:

The coolest thing about Twitch is its ability to connect users to other social networks like Facebook and Twitter etc. with ease. It also provides a direct connection to other potential gaming services like Battle.net, Steam, and Xbox. When you decide to disable your Twitch account, it is also important to break the connection with these third-party services as well. It will help you to connect to a new account in the future. To do this, go to the Settings page and then hit the Connections tab. Here you will find a list of all connected services. Simply hit the green tick available in front of their names to disconnect.

Part 3: How to Enable a Disabled Twitch Account:

After disabling your Twitch account, at any step if you feel like you should switch to your account again; you can enable it again. Yeah! This is the best thing about Twitch that it welcomes its users again with ease. Follow these simple steps to enable your disabled account:

Step 1: Simply go to the customer support page of Twitch.

Step 2: Fill the essential fields in the form and then hit the “Send Email” button available by the end of the form.

Step 3: Within a few business days, you will receive an email containing details about how you can reactivate/ enable your account.

Part 4: Do you really want to disable your Twitch Account?

You may be desperate enough to delete your Twitch account due to any situation, but before disabling, it is good to consider few things:

1. Instead of disabling twitch account, you can change your twitch username:

Many people disable their Twitch account just to create a new one with the better username. But the great news is that you need not do so because Twitch allows users to change their username in the existing account. You can simply go to the Settings page and hit the edit option available with the username field.

2. Keeping your twitch account, you can reserve your brand name and watch Streams:

In case if you are currently busy in your offline life and not using the Twitch account, it is still a good idea to keep the account online so that your followers can stay connected to you. You may not find this decision-useful at the immediate stage, but it is really beneficial to keep your popular brand name reserved for future.

3. You can get the Twitch Prime membership if you have Amazon Prime:

You can also enjoy premium membership service for your Twitch account with your Amazon Prime membership. In case if you disable your account, the advantage to have Twitch Prime will be lost. It is better to stay connected to the free digital content, lots of interesting games with several awesome perks online.

Liza Brown
Liza Brown is a writer and a lover of all things video.